American Idol This Week

In case you didn’t know, last week’s “American Idol” Top 24 performance was pre-taped.  You may think they are starting with live performances this week, but NOPE, and  Nigel Lythgoe himself, via Twitter, has confirmed it. It even sounds like Nigel is a little irritated with all the speculation the pre-taping is creating.  Nigel tweeted: “There is a load of crap being discussed all the contestants sing ‘live.’ The show has always been recorded to the West Coast. We are pre-taping for 2 weeks as we have a new Director & new judges. It has nothing to do with manipulation you morons.”  So looks like “live” performances will not start up until next week.  Here’s hoping they don’t manipulate by allowing contestants to fix any flubs during their performances.

The Wednesday show (8-10 pm) will showcase the contestants favorite artists.  That always turns out so well doesn’t it.  So, who do you think will go home this week?  Know the names and faces yet.  Will it be one of the wild card picks or ones that have already gotten fan votes.  I’m thinking it will be one of the wild ones.

This week on American Idol 2011,   Adam Lambert will be returning to the Idol spotlight on Thursday night to perform an acoustic version of “Aftermath”, so that’ll be a little different than his last laser-show visit.   Also that night we’ll get performances from Diddy-Dirty Money with Skylar Grey and the return of David Cook.  

Cook will introduce this season’s new good-bye, out the door, leaving song, a remake of Simple Minds’ “Don’t You (Forget About Me).” You can hear the full version of Cook’s cover below, right after you finish burying your beloved 80’s memories in the backyard.  What do you think of his take on the song?  You may have to go to youtube to view it.

6 Responses to American Idol This Week

  1. jsnana says:

    Where are you?

  2. Eve Doin'ME says:

    Hey Nana! Been busy as a bee over heah!!!

    I watched the first 3 or 4 contestants on AI last night and I couldn’t take all the cheese! Randy really wants big hair girl to be great but……..NOT! and the Luther wannabe is waaaaaaaaaaay too full of himself and I didn’t like him eitha! And the first chic out the gate, where did she come from? Ugh! Simon was right to leave and I am about to join him, LOL!

  3. kimtastic says:

    Hey y’all! I have been working my tail off! I actually watched last night and thought they were the most talented bunch yet. There were a few duds but I loved Jacob! Sorry Eve 🙂 the country peeps need to go and that twitchy guy and the Selena wannabe. But everybody, Lee I thought was great!

  4. Just Jex says:

    Well, Hello ladies. I didn’t watch either. That’s why I didn’t post anything today. I like the screechy Macy Gray guy. He’s weird like Taylor. And he has a beautiful smile.

  5. Eve Doin'ME says:

    I am TIRED! I haven’t worked this much in a minute! LOL! Who is Lee and who is Macy Gray guy? I think I’ll check back into Idol when they are down to 8 or something. It was just boring to me last night.

    • Just Jex says:

      One contestant sounds like Macy Gray, looks like Rod Stewart and dances like Taylor. He’s very different. He’s my favorite. That’s not saying much, but there you go.

Leave a comment